Eight Quebecers among Order of Canada Recipients

Pic: THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick


Ottawa  –  Eight Quebecers are among the recipients of the Order of Canada who received their honours on Friday.

In all, 10 officers and 34 new members were named, including members of the band Tragically Hip and Jeopardy television game show host Alex Trebek. The honours were presented by Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada.

The eight Quebecers include director and set designer Denis Marleau, who was named an officer of the order.

Other recipients from Quebec are: filmmaker Manon Barbeau, former general secretary of the Institut de tourisme et d’hôtellerie du QuébecRené-Luc Blaquière, ex-provincial cabinet minister and chairman of the Concours musical international de Montréal André Bourbeau, businessperson Louise Champoux-Paillé, businessperson Anne-Marie Hubert, Refuge des Jeunes de Montréal co-founder France Labelle and Jean Lucien Rouleau, a cardiologist and former dean of the faculty of medicine at Université de Montréal.

Trebek was named for his television career and also for his involvement in educational, environmental and social causes.

The members of the Tragically Hip were made members of the order – Rob Baker, Johnny Fay, Paul Langlois and Gord Sinclair and their former leader, Gord Downie, who died of brain cancer in October, as members of the Order for their contributions to culture and their defence of social and environmental causes.

Downie was previously honoured during a ceremony at Rideau Hall in June for his work in raising awareness of Indigenous issues.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


11 − five =